Telemarketers get most consumer complaints

| Print |  Email
Must Reads
Thursday, March 07, 2013

The Oregon Department of Justice released its top 10 consumer complaints for 2012, and telemarketers topped the list for the second year in a row.

For the year, the state received a total of 12,000 written complaints from consumers. Complaints about telemarketers made up about 15 percent of those, or 1,828.

Falling in line behind telemarketers were debt collection agencies at No. 2 with 1,032 complaints, a 42 percent increase from the industry's complaint total last year. The state said the increase likely came from complaints from consumers who received suspicious, albeit valid, notices of late movies from bankrupt Hollywood Video. Home ownership issues followed in the No. 3 slot with 939 complaints. The state encouraged consumers who feel they're wrongly being targeted by a debt collector to read up on their rights.

Read more at OregonLive.com.

{biztweet}telemarketer{/biztweet}

 

Comments   

 
Guest
0 #1 Telemarketers are the worst nuisance callers!Guest 2013-03-12 05:05:07
I certainly agree with this complaint list. I've received several nuisance calls, too, which I reported to http://www.callercenter.com and most of them were indeed from telemarketers.

So now that we have this list, what's the next step?
Quote | Report to administrator
 

More Articles

Business partnerships: taming the three-headed monster

Contributed Blogs
Monday, July 06, 2015
070615-businessmarriagefail-thumbBY KATHERINE HEEKIN | OB GUEST COLUMNIST

Picking a business partner is not much different than choosing a spouse or life partner, and the business break-up can be as heart-wrenching and costly as divorce.


Read more...

6 key things to know about summer baseball in Oregon

The Latest
Friday, June 05, 2015
basedthumbBY JACOB PALMER | DIGITAL NEWS EDITOR

As temperatures in Oregon creep into the 90s this weekend, Oregonians' thoughts are turning to — summer baseball.


Read more...

Urban renewer

Linda Baker
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
UnknownBY LINDA BAKER   

One year after he was appointed chair of the Portland Development Commission, Tom Kelly talks about PDC's longevity, Neil Kelly's comeback and his new role as Portlandia's landlord.


Read more...

Photo log: Murray's Pharmacy

The Latest
Friday, July 17, 2015
OBM-Heppner-Kaplan thumbBY JASON KAPLAN

Photographer Jason Kaplan takes a look at Murray's Pharmacy in Heppner.  The family owned business is run by John and Ann Murray, who were featured in our July/August cover story: 10 Innovators in Rural Health Care.


Read more...

The 5 highest revenue-generating parks in Oregon

The Latest
Thursday, June 11, 2015
parksthumbBY JACOB PALMER | DIGITAL NEWS EDITOR

In 2014, total revenue for camping and day use in Oregon State Parks was a little more than $17 million. That figure may even higher this year "because we've had exceptionally nice weather," Hughes says.


Read more...

Reader Input: Rx for Health Care

July/August 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015

We asked readers how Obamacare has impacted their business.


Read more...

Apartment Mania

Guest Blog
Thursday, June 18, 2015
4805983977 11466ce1d6 zBY BRAD HOULE | CFA

While most categories of commercial real estate have performed well, one of the most robust has been apartment buildings.


Read more...
Oregon Business magazinetitle-sponsored-links-02
SPONSORED LINKS