Home Must Reads Telemarketers get most consumer complaints

Telemarketers get most consumer complaints

| Print |  Email
Must Reads
Thursday, March 07, 2013

The Oregon Department of Justice released its top 10 consumer complaints for 2012, and telemarketers topped the list for the second year in a row.

For the year, the state received a total of 12,000 written complaints from consumers. Complaints about telemarketers made up about 15 percent of those, or 1,828.

Falling in line behind telemarketers were debt collection agencies at No. 2 with 1,032 complaints, a 42 percent increase from the industry's complaint total last year. The state said the increase likely came from complaints from consumers who received suspicious, albeit valid, notices of late movies from bankrupt Hollywood Video. Home ownership issues followed in the No. 3 slot with 939 complaints. The state encouraged consumers who feel they're wrongly being targeted by a debt collector to read up on their rights.

Read more at OregonLive.com.

{biztweet}telemarketer{/biztweet}

 

Comments   

 
Guest
0 #1 Telemarketers are the worst nuisance callers!Guest 2013-03-12 05:05:07
I certainly agree with this complaint list. I've received several nuisance calls, too, which I reported to http://www.callercenter.com and most of them were indeed from telemarketers.

So now that we have this list, what's the next step?
Quote | Report to administrator
 

More Articles

Community colleges and sustainability

Contributed Blogs
Thursday, July 31, 2014
sustainabilityBY MARY SPILDE | OB GUEST CONTRIBUTOR

Faced with the aftermath of the “great recession,” increasing concern about the environment and dwindling family wage jobs, we have some very important choices to make about our future.


Read more...

Podcast: Interview with Steve Balzac

Contributed Blogs
Tuesday, August 19, 2014

082014BalzacBY TOM COX | OB BLOGGER

Tom Cox interviews Steve Balzac, author of "Organizational Psychology for Managers."


Read more...

Podcast: Testing for Emotional Intelligence with John Hersey

Contributed Blogs
Friday, September 19, 2014
ivbU3sIXBY TOM COX | OB BLOGGER

How can you tell if you, a peer, a subordinate or a job candidate has the emotional intelligence needed to do well?


Read more...

Video: The 100 Best Survey

News
Thursday, August 28, 2014

100-best-logo-2015 500pxw-1OB Research Editor Kim Moore shares some pointers about the 100 Best Companies to Work For survey.


Read more...

Fast Food Slows Down

September 2014
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
BY KIM MOORE

The ubiquitous fast-food restaurant may be on the decline.


Read more...

Managing family assets: The importance of planning ahead

News
Friday, August 22, 2014
Unknown-1BY CLIFF HOCKLEY |  OB GUEST CONTRIBUTOR

When business intersects with family, a host of  situations can arise. Without a clear vision and careful planning, hard-earned investments can become stressful burdens.


Read more...

Poll Wrap-Up

News
Friday, August 15, 2014

2014 NewPoll-report-newsletterthumbIn this week's poll, we asked readers: "Who should pay for the troubled Cover Oregon website?" Here are the results.


Read more...
Oregon Business magazinetitle-sponsored-links-02
SPONSORED LINKS