Telemarketers get most consumer complaints

| Print |  Email
Must Reads
Thursday, March 07, 2013

The Oregon Department of Justice released its top 10 consumer complaints for 2012, and telemarketers topped the list for the second year in a row.

For the year, the state received a total of 12,000 written complaints from consumers. Complaints about telemarketers made up about 15 percent of those, or 1,828.

Falling in line behind telemarketers were debt collection agencies at No. 2 with 1,032 complaints, a 42 percent increase from the industry's complaint total last year. The state said the increase likely came from complaints from consumers who received suspicious, albeit valid, notices of late movies from bankrupt Hollywood Video. Home ownership issues followed in the No. 3 slot with 939 complaints. The state encouraged consumers who feel they're wrongly being targeted by a debt collector to read up on their rights.

Read more at OregonLive.com.

{biztweet}telemarketer{/biztweet}

 

Comments   

 
Guest
0 #1 Telemarketers are the worst nuisance callers!Guest 2013-03-12 05:05:07
I certainly agree with this complaint list. I've received several nuisance calls, too, which I reported to http://www.callercenter.com and most of them were indeed from telemarketers.

So now that we have this list, what's the next step?
Quote | Report to administrator
 

More Articles

Is there life beyond Reed?

September 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
BY GARY THILL | PHOTOS BY JASON E. KAPLAN

A storied institution climbs down from the ivory tower.


Read more...

Grain Food

September 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
BY JACOB PALMER

A Power Lunch at Bob's Red Mill Whole Grain Store and Restaurant.


Read more...

Store Bought

July/August 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
BY LINDA BAKER

Market of Choice is on a tear. In 2012 the 35-year-old Eugene-based grocery chain opened a central kitchen/distribution center in its hometown. The market opened a third Portland store in the Cedar Mill neighborhood this year; a Bend outpost broke ground in March. A fourth Portland location is slated for the inner southeast “LOCA” development, a mixed-use project featuring condos and retail. Revenues in 2014 were $175 million, a double-digit increase over 2013. CEO Rick Wright discusses growth, market trends and how he keeps new “foodie” grocery clerks happy.


Read more...

Aim High

September 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
BY JOE CORTRIGHT

We get the education we deserve.


Read more...

Business School

September 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
BY AMY MILSHTEIN

Training, from the mundane to the sublime, bolsters companies and workers in an uncertain world.


Read more...

Downtime with Jill Nelson

September 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
BY JACOB PALMER

Live, Work, Play wit the CEO of Ruby Receptionists.


Read more...

Unshakable

September 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
BY BRIAN LIBBY

Ben Kaiser holds his ground.


Read more...
Oregon Business magazinetitle-sponsored-links-02
SPONSORED LINKS