Home Must Reads Army Corps of Engineers rejects coal reviews

Army Corps of Engineers rejects coal reviews

| Print |  Email
Must Reads
Wednesday, June 19, 2013

The Army Corps of Engineers won't review all proposed Northwest coal terminals.

Coal opponents had wanted the Corps to collectively examine environmental impacts from three proposed export facilities in Washington and Oregon because they’d felt doing so would better gauge cumulative effects from coal dust in the area’s waterways and in communities.

Opponents said more than 500 businesses called for a full area-wide review of the proposals. Oregon Gov. John Kitzhaber joined Washington Gov. Jay Inslee in demanding more federal reviews of coal export effects before any projects are approved.

Read more at Sustainable Business Oregon.

{biztweet}army corps coal{/biztweet}

 

More Articles

South Waterfront's revenge

News
Thursday, July 24, 2014
MoodyAveBY LINDA BAKER | OB EDITOR

Remember the naysayers?  Those who called the South Waterfront aerial tram a boondoggle?  Those who rejoiced at the massive sell off of luxury condos at the John Ross and Atwater Place?


Read more...

Fast Food Slows Down

September 2014
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
BY KIM MOORE

The ubiquitous fast-food restaurant may be on the decline.


Read more...

Powerlist: Colleges and Universities

September 2014
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
BY KIM MOORE

A conversation about higher education with the presidents of the University of Oregon and Clackamas Community College, followed by September's powerlist.


Read more...

Why I became an Oregon angel investor

Guest Blog
Monday, July 14, 2014
AngelInvestBY TERRY "STARBUCKER" ST. MARIE

I really didn’t know that much about angel investing, but I did know a lot about the entrepreneurial spirit.


Read more...

Interview: Dr. Mark Goulston

Contributed Blogs
Thursday, July 10, 2014
JustListenBY TOM COX | OB BLOGGER

Tom Cox interviews Dr. Mark Goulston, author of Just Listen, Discover the Secret to Getting Through to Absolutely Anyone.


Read more...

Who said we should sell in May?

Contributed Blogs
Friday, July 18, 2014
BullMarketBY JASON NORRIS | OB GUEST CONTRIBUTOR

Back in May, we shared a common Wall Street quote about investing, “Sell in May and go away.” Fast forward to July and the most common question we have been getting from clients is, “When is the market pullback going to occur?”


Read more...

Podcast: Interview with Steve Balzac

Contributed Blogs
Tuesday, August 19, 2014

082014BalzacBY TOM COX | OB BLOGGER

Tom Cox interviews Steve Balzac, author of "Organizational Psychology for Managers."


Read more...
Oregon Business magazinetitle-sponsored-links-02
SPONSORED LINKS