Home From the Wires Yelp says quarter of reviews are fake

Yelp says quarter of reviews are fake

| Print |  Email
Friday, September 27, 2013

BBC: The online directory and consumer review site, says a quarter of the reviews it receives could be fake.

Its automated review filter now "suppresses around 25%" of "suspicious" reviews it receives, the company said.

 

Read more.

 

 

Comments   

 
Guest
0 #1 Don't believe YelpGuest 2013-09-27 23:39:52
Yelp is a blackmailing terrorist organization. It claims that its filter algorithm is perfectly accurate in eliminating positive reviews from a business's profile. Bull puckey.
Ye;p's filter system is 100% effective at removing positive reviews unless the business pays for Yelp advertising, at which time those positive reviews miraculously pass the 'filter.' Yelp is the digital age's Better Business Bureau - pay to play, and its ratings and rankings mean nothing but fraud.
Quote | Report to administrator
 

More Articles

The solution to youth unemployment

News
Thursday, February 27, 2014
02.27.14 Thumbnail TeenworkBY ERIC FRUITS

Because they have little chance of working for someone else, today’s teens need to be entrepreneurs. But, first, we must teach our teens that entrepreneurship starts small.


Read more...

100 Best Companies to Work for in Oregon [VIDEO]

News
Monday, March 03, 2014

Screen shot 2014-03-03 at 11.26.47 AM

Check out interviews with employees from some of the 100 Best Companies to Work For in Oregon winners and find out what makes their company a great place to work.


Read more...

The more they change, the more they stay the same

March 2014
Tuesday, February 25, 2014
100-best-collageBY BRANDON SAWYER

The 100 Best Companies get more creative with perks and more generous with benefits; employees seek empowering relations with management and coworkers.


Read more...

Leader's bookshelf

Contributed Blogs
Friday, March 14, 2014
02.06.14 BooksBY TOM COX | OB BLOGGER

Five books that will make you a better leader.


Read more...

From the Editor: The human factor

March 2014
Tuesday, February 25, 2014

In this issue, we celebrate our 21st annual 100 Best Companies to Work For in Oregon project.


Read more...

Spring thaw

News
Thursday, April 17, 2014
Spring ThawBY JASON NORRIS | OB BLOGGER

The “polar vortex” of 2014 seems to have finally thawed and we believe this change in weather will bring more sunshine to the U.S. economy as well.


Read more...

The 2014 List: The Top 33 Small Companies to Work, For in Oregon

March 2014
Thursday, February 27, 2014

100best14logoWebOur 100 Best Companies project turned 21 this year, so pop open the Champagne. Our latest survey gives us plenty to cheer.

 


Read more...
Oregon Business magazinetitle-sponsored-links-02
SPONSORED LINKS