Yelp says quarter of reviews are fake

| Print |  Email
Friday, September 27, 2013

BBC: The online directory and consumer review site, says a quarter of the reviews it receives could be fake.

Its automated review filter now "suppresses around 25%" of "suspicious" reviews it receives, the company said.

 

Read more.

 

 

Comments   

 
Guest
0 #1 Don't believe YelpGuest 2013-09-27 23:39:52
Yelp is a blackmailing terrorist organization. It claims that its filter algorithm is perfectly accurate in eliminating positive reviews from a business's profile. Bull puckey.
Ye;p's filter system is 100% effective at removing positive reviews unless the business pays for Yelp advertising, at which time those positive reviews miraculously pass the 'filter.' Yelp is the digital age's Better Business Bureau - pay to play, and its ratings and rankings mean nothing but fraud.
Quote | Report to administrator
 

More Articles

Taking the lead in boosting Oregonians’ health and strengthening our economy

Contributed Blogs
Thursday, January 08, 2015
0108-injection-thumbBY CAMBIA HEALTH SOLUTIONS & OREGON BUSINESS COUNCIL | OP-ED

Businesses have a significant stake in the health of Oregonians. In fact, we cannot succeed without it. By committing to using our companies as levers for good health, we invest in our people, our business, our quality of life and our economy. 


Read more...

The Carbon Calculus

February 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
BY KIM MOORE | OB RESEARCH EDITOR

Carbon pricing is gaining momentum in Oregon, sparking concern for energy-intensive businesses — but also opportunity to expand a homespun green economy.


Read more...

Streetfight

News
Sunday, December 07, 2014
BY LINDA BAKER

On Friday, Uber switched on an app — and with one push of the button torpedoed Portland’s famed public process.


Read more...

Corner Office: Pam Edstrom

January-Powerbook 2015
Saturday, December 13, 2014

Seven tidbits of information from an agency partner and co-founder of Waggener Edstrom in Lake Oswego.


Read more...

The short list: Holiday habits of six Oregon CEOs

The Latest
Thursday, December 11, 2014
121214-xmaslist1BY JACOB PALMER | OB DIGITAL NEWS EDITOR

We ask business and nonprofit leaders how they survive the season.


Read more...

See How They Run

January-Powerbook 2015
Friday, December 12, 2014
BY LINDA BAKER

Studying ground-running birds, a group that ranks among nature's speediest and most agile bipedal runners, to build a faster robot.


Read more...

Legislative Preview: A Shifting Balance

January-Powerbook 2015
Thursday, December 11, 2014
BY APRIL STREETER

Democratic gains pave the way for a revival of environment and labor bills as revenue reform languishes.


Read more...
Oregon Business magazinetitle-sponsored-links-02
SPONSORED LINKS