Log in
updated 6:29 PM PDT, May 26, 2016

Forty-Eight Lane Powell Attorneys - Including 21 Portland Attorneys - Named Best Lawyers in America 2016; Three Named 'Lawyer of the Year' For Specific Practice Areas

Forty-eight Lane Powell lawyers were recently selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America® (Best Lawyers) 2016; of those selected, 21 are from the Firm’s office in Portland, Oregon.


Forty-eight Lane Powell lawyers were recently selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America® (Best Lawyers) 2016; of those selected, 21 are from the Firm’s office in Portland, Oregon.

Special recognition goes to Lane Powell’s 2016 “Lawyers of the Year”:  Charles F. Hudson, who was named for his work in Eminent Domain and Condemnation; Michael R. Silvey, who was named for his work in Real Estate; and Jeffrey C. Wolfstone, who was named for his work in Business Organizations (including LLCs and Partnerships).  Hudson, Silvey and Wolfstone were recognized because they received a particularly high rating in Best Lawyers®’ peer-review survey, signifying a high level of respect among peers for their abilities, professionalism and integrity.  The “Lawyer of the Year” award is presented to only one lawyer in each practice area and designated metropolitan area.

The Portland “Best Lawyers” and their practice areas are:

  • Craig D. Bachman:  Litigation — Antitrust; Litigation — Intellectual Property
  • A. Jeffery Bird:  Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Kenneth R. Davis II:  Litigation —  Intellectual Property
  • Julianne R. Davis:  Litigation — Intellectual Property
  • Pilar C. French:  Litigation — Banking and Finance
  • John H. Gadon:  Litigation and Controversy — Tax; Tax
  • David G. Hosenpud:  Commercial Litigation; Employment — Management; Litigation — Labor and Employment; Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions — Defendants
  • Charles F. Hudson:  Eminent Domain and Condemnation
  • Neil D. Kimmelfield:  Litigation and Controversy — Tax; Tax
  • Benjamin G. Lenhart:  Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Jill R. Long:  Land Use and Zoning Law
  • Robert E. Maloney Jr.:  Eminent Domain and Condemnation
  • Andrew J. Morrow Jr.:  Corporate
  • Paul M. Ostroff:  Employment — Management; Labor — Management; Litigation — Labor and Employment
  • Milo Petranovich:  Antitrust; Litigation — Securities; Commercial Litigation 
  • Bryan E. Powell:  Real Estate
  • Michael R. Silvey:  Real Estate
  • Vicki L. Smith:  Commercial Litigation; Product Liability Litigation — Defendants; Product Liability Litigation — Plaintiffs
  • Thomas W. Sondag:  Appellate
  • John C. Stevason:  Employment — Management
  • Jeffrey C. Wolfstone:  Business Organizations (including LLCs and Partnerships); Corporate; Mergers and Acquisitions

Special recognition goes to Bryan E. Powell and Thomas W. Sondag, who have been listed for 10 or more years.

The current edition of Best Lawyers (2016) is based on detailed evaluations of lawyers by other lawyers.  Since its inception in 1983, Best Lawyers has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence.  Because Best Lawyers is based on an exhaustive peer-review survey in which more than 50,000 leading attorneys cast nearly five million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas, and because lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed, inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor.  Corporate Counsel magazine has called Best Lawyers “the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice.”

Last modified onTuesday, 24 November 2015 14:24
Jacob Palmer

Jacob Palmer is the former digital news editor for Oregon Business.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.

Get our original content straight to your inbox.
Enter your email below to sign up for our daily enewsletter