Home Back Issues July/August 2014 The Private 150: Bigger But Leaner

The Private 150: Bigger But Leaner

| Print |  Email
Articles - July/August 2014
Friday, July 11, 2014
Article Index
The Private 150: Bigger But Leaner
More than $1 billion
$250 million to $1 billion
$150 million to $250 million
$100 million to $150 million
$75 million to $100 million
$50 million to $75 million
Less than $50 million

 

RANK
2014
RANK
2013
COMPANY WEB ADDRESS SENIOR EXECUTIVE  TOTAL
EMPLOYEES 
OREGON EMPLOYEES  YEAR ESTABLISHED  DESCRIPTION
LESS THAN $50 MILLION
106 NR Renaissance Homes renaissance-homes.com Randy Sebastian 26 26 1984 Home builder specializing in green buildings.
TIE 107 113 Miller Nash millernash.com Kieran Curley 239 172 1873 Business and litigation law firm
TIE 107 125 Turf Merchants turfmerchants.com Steven P. Tubbs 9 9 1983 Developer, producer and marketer of turf and forage grass seeds
109 118 Windermere Stellar windermereportland.com Brian Allen 48 42 1972 Real estate company
TIE 110 NR Emerick Construction Co. emerick.com Corey Lohman 45 45 1943 Renovator of historic, civic and cultural facilities
TIE 110 114 Stash Tea stashtea.com Tom Lisicki 300 75 1972 Manufacturer and seller of specialty teas
112 116 Henningsen Cold Storage* henningsen.com Michael E. Henningsen Jr. 232 68 1923 Public refrigerated warehousing company
113 82 P&C Construction builtbypandc.com Steve Malany 35 35 1961 General contracting firm
114 126 Anthro Corporation anthro.com Shoaib Tareen 112 112 1984 Manufacturer of office furniture
TIE 115 NR Contact Industries contactind.com Frank Pearson 210 210 1946 Manufacturer of engineered wood products
TIE 115 NR Rexius Forest By-Products rexius.com Arlen Rexius 300 250 1935 Recycler and processor of organic waste
117 119 VanderHouwen & Associates vanderhouwen.com Kathy VanderHouwen 367 306 1987 Professional staffing firm specializing in IT, engineering and accounting talent
118 NR Benchmade Knife Company benchmade.com Lester de Asis 180 180 1990 Knife manufacturer
119 122 Northside Ford Truck Sales northsidefordpdx.com Jim McDonough 68 68 1972 Ford truck dealer
120 120 Far West Fibers farwestfibers.com Keith Ristau 156 155 1980 Waste recycling firm
121 124 Triplett Wellman triplettwellman.com Gene Wellman 47 47 1982 Construction management and general contracting firm
122 135 Elemental Technologies elementaltechnologies.com Sam Blackman 142 101 2006 Supplier of software defined video solutions for multiscreen content delivery
123 130 Smarsh smarsh.com Stephen D. Marsh 200 110 2001 Provider of archiving and compliance solutions
124 127 Otak otak.com Chris Rayasam 178 73 1981 Multidisciplinary design firm
TIE 125 120 Chambers Construction chambersconstruction.com David Hilles 85 85 1955 Construction firm
TIE 125 106 Todd Construction toddconstruction.com Brent Schafer 50 50 1986 Construction firm
127 128 Ochoco Lumber Co. ochocolumber.com Bruce Daucsavage 103 96 1938 Operates sawmills
128 NR The Tofurky Company www.tofurky.co Seth Tibbott 98 96 1980 Producer of meat alternatives
12 129 Olsson Industrial Electric olssonelec.com Ike Olsson 115 115 1982 Industrial electrical contractor
130 NR A to Z Wineworks atozwineworks.com William Hatcher 51 45 2002 Winery and vineyard
131 131 Bullivant Houser Bailey bullivant.com Loren Podwill 117 78 1938 Law firm focusing on business, commercial and casualty litigation, insurance coverage
132 138 Neil Kelly Company neilkelly.com Tom Kelly 143 130 1947 Residential design-build contractor
133 132 Beaverton Foods beavertonfoods.com Domonic Biggi 80 80 1929 Specialty condiments maker
134 139 Yorke & Curtis yorkeandcurtis.com Erik Timmons 27 27 1988 General contracting firm
135 136 G5 getg5.com Dan Hobin 142 131 2005 Provider of digital experience management software and services in the property management sector
136 147 General Sheet Metal gsmw.com Carol Duncan 80 80 1932 Provider of construction and fabrication services
137 137 Portland Bottling Company portlandbottling.com Tom Keenan 68 68 1924 Manufacturer of non alchoholic beverages
138 141 The Partners Group tpgrp.com Roderick B. Cruickshank 106 70 1999 Financial services and commercial insurance broker
139 143 iovation iovation.com Greg Pierson 82 72 2004 Provider of fraud prevention software
140 144 Axium axium.com Dan Mayleben 120 91 1996 Provider of integrated accounting and project management software
141 142 Integrity Logistics integritylogistics.com Keith Gibson 20 20 1988 Provider of transportation services
142 146 MyBinding.com mybinding.com Cory Ware 68 68 1998 Online retailer for binding equipment, supplies, laminators
143 140 Madden Industrial Craftsmen mici.com Ron Madden 26 26 1988 Industrial and construction staffing firm
144 145 ACME Business Consulting acmebusinessconsulting.com Scott Demorest 68 68 2002 Business consultant
145 NR Café Yumm! cafeyumm.com  Mark S. Beauchamp 266 246 1997 Restaurant chain, food manufacturer and distributer
146 NR Rich Duncan Construction richduncanconstruction.com Rich Duncan 18 18 2002 Builder specializing in commercial construction and tenant improvement
147 149 Ruby Receptionists callruby.com Jill Nelson 129 129 2003 Virtual receptionist company
148 148 ISITE Design isitedesign.com Paul Williams 72 56 1997 Digital agency and design consultancy
149 150 AngelVision Technologies angelvisiontech.com Michael Jingozian 43 43 2001 Producer of online messages for marketing purposes
150 NR Menashe Properties menasheproperties.com Jordan Menashe 12 12 1978 Commercial landowner
* Ranking based on data submitted last year


 

More Articles

I Know How You Feel

November/December 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
BY JESSICA RIDGWAY

Most smartphones come equipped with speech recognition systems like Siri or Cortana that are capable of understanding the human voice and putting words into actions. But what if smartphones could do more? What if smartphones could register feeling?


Read more...

Books Rule

October 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014
BY JON BELL

Powell's stays relevant in the digital age.


Read more...

A Recipe for Success

October 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014
BY LINDA BAKER

Two businesswomen, two iconic food brands and one food-obsessed city. We thought this sounded like a recipe for good conversation. So in late August, Oregon Business sat down with Wendy Collie, CEO of New Seasons Market, and Kim Malek, owner of Salt & Straw, to discuss their rapidly expanding businesses and Oregon’s trendsetting food scene.


Read more...

OB Poll: Wineries and groceries

News
Friday, October 24, 2014

24-winethumbA majority of respondents agreed: Local vineyards should remain Oregon-owned and quality is the most important factor when determining where to eat or buy groceries.


Read more...

Gone Girl

News
Monday, September 29, 2014
roundup-logo-thumb-14BY LINDA BAKER | OB EDITOR

Wehby disappears, Kitzhaber fails to disclose and Seattle gets bike share before Portland.


Read more...

100 Best Nonprofits announced

News
Thursday, October 02, 2014

100NP14logo4WebOregon Business magazine has named the sixth annual 100 Best Nonprofits to Work for in Oregon.


Read more...

The Backstory

October 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014

In our cover story this month, Wendy Collie, CEO of New Seasons Market, and Kim Malek, owner of Salt & Straw, discuss their rapidly growing businesses and Portland’s red hot food scene. The conversation provides an interesting lens through which to explore trends in the grocery store and restaurant sectors.


Read more...
Oregon Business magazinetitle-sponsored-links-02
SPONSORED LINKS