Home Archives April 2008 The trouble with anonymous complaints

The trouble with anonymous complaints

| Print |  Email
Tuesday, April 01, 2008

I just read “Troubling truths” [100 BEST COMPANIES, MARCH] and having heard those same complaints about my management style, I must ask: Where is the truly objective examination of the anger, sadness and frustration reported by all of those mismanaged employees?

Several years ago, when my ex-partner hired a consultant to help with workplace issues we were experiencing, I found the employees who complained the longest and the loudest, when allowed to do so anonymously, contributed the least, took the most and created, rather than solved, problems in the organization.

I guess it could be argued that including your “truths” adds some form of balance to the praise given to other companies in the magazine but in “truth,” they have no value as they have not been qualified in any manner.

Bob Peterson, president
Allied Power Products
Beaverton


Have an opinion? E-mail This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

More Articles

Liquid gold

June 2014
Thursday, May 29, 2014
BY JENNIFER MARGULIS

Don Gentry navigates Klamath Basin water rights.


Read more...

Creating a culture of compliance

Business tips
Thursday, June 19, 2014
DataBY MONICA ENAND | GUEST CONTRIBUTOR

Nine tips for building habits among employees to respond when needed.


Read more...

Reader Input: Energy policy

June 2014
Thursday, May 29, 2014

How serious a problem is climate change? Readers want to have their cake and eat it, too.


Read more...

Proceed with caution

June 2014
Thursday, May 29, 2014
0614leadersBY COURTNEY SHERWOOD

Business and civic leaders weigh the risks and rewards of going green.


Read more...

Downtime with Doug Gastich

June 2014
Thursday, May 29, 2014
BY JESSICA RIDGWAY

How the president of BlueVolt spends his free time.


Read more...

The 100 Best Green Workplaces in Oregon

June 2014
Tuesday, May 27, 2014

GreenLogoOregon is known for its green-minded citizens, and many workers are attracted to firms and organizations that practice green, not just pay lip service to it.


Read more...

100 Best Green Companies Keynote Speech

News
Friday, May 30, 2014

green2014-069Watch the 2014 100 Best Green Companies keynote speech by Eric Friedenwald-Fishman.


Read more...
Oregon Business magazinetitle-sponsored-links-02
SPONSORED LINKS