Home Archives April 2008 The trouble with anonymous complaints

The trouble with anonymous complaints

| Print |  Email
Tuesday, April 01, 2008

I just read “Troubling truths” [100 BEST COMPANIES, MARCH] and having heard those same complaints about my management style, I must ask: Where is the truly objective examination of the anger, sadness and frustration reported by all of those mismanaged employees?

Several years ago, when my ex-partner hired a consultant to help with workplace issues we were experiencing, I found the employees who complained the longest and the loudest, when allowed to do so anonymously, contributed the least, took the most and created, rather than solved, problems in the organization.

I guess it could be argued that including your “truths” adds some form of balance to the praise given to other companies in the magazine but in “truth,” they have no value as they have not been qualified in any manner.

Bob Peterson, president
Allied Power Products
Beaverton


Have an opinion? E-mail This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

More Articles

Two sides of the coin

Contributed Blogs
Monday, August 25, 2014
0825 thumb moneyBY JASON NORRIS | OB GUEST BLOGGER

Ferguson Wellman’s investment views on the economy and capital markets.


Read more...

Green Endeavor cleans up

News
Wednesday, August 06, 2014
080614 ULnew greenendeavorBY LINDA BAKER | OB EDITOR

Portland startup Green Endeavor strikes gold, inking a partnership with Underwriters Laboratories, an Illinois-based consulting and certification company with offices in 46 countries.


Read more...

Buyer's Remorse

September 2014
Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Parents and students paying for college today are like homeowners who bought a house just before the housing bubble burst.


Read more...

Private liberal arts education: superior outcomes, competitive price

Contributed Blogs
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
0826 thumb collegemoneyBY DEBRA RINGOLD | OP-ED CONTRIBUTOR

Why has six years become an acceptable investment in public undergraduate education that over-promises and underperforms?


Read more...

The Rail Baron

October 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014
BY LINDA BAKER

Oil is gushing out of the U.S. and Canada, and much of it is coming from places that don’t have pipeline infrastructure. So it’s being shipped by rail.


Read more...

Podcast: Testing for Emotional Intelligence with John Hersey

Contributed Blogs
Friday, September 19, 2014
ivbU3sIXBY TOM COX | OB BLOGGER

How can you tell if you, a peer, a subordinate or a job candidate has the emotional intelligence needed to do well?


Read more...

Shipping News

September 2014
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
BY JENNIFER MARGULIS

In 2012 The Dalles, a city of some 14,400 located 75 miles east of Portland and often seen as the poor cousin to adjacent Hood River, completed a massive project to revitalize its dock.


Read more...
Oregon Business magazinetitle-sponsored-links-02
SPONSORED LINKS